1st Place Team: University of Alberta
Left to right: Christopher Samuel, Alyssa Kim, Kimberly Gosel, Justice Cindy A. Bourgeois of the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal, Chief Justice Richard Wagner of the Supreme Court of Canada, Justice Peter Lauwers of the Court of Appeal for Ontario, David Pope, and Paul Maas.

Congratulations to the University of Alberta: Winner of the Wilson Moot 2018

The University of Alberta is the overall winner of the Wilson Moot 2018. Team members included Alyssa Kim, David Pope, Kimberly Gosel, and Paul Maas who competed successfully against 12 other participating law schools.

The preliminary rounds took place in Toronto on February 23 and 24, 2018. The final round between the top two teams from the University of Alberta and the University of Toronto was held on Saturday afternoon before the Right Honourable Richard Wagner, P.C., Chief Justice of Canada, the Honourable Peter Lauwers of the Court of Appeal for Ontario and the Honourable Cindy A. Bourgeois of the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal. Queen’s University placed third in the competition.

The prizes for best written argument were awarded to Thompson Rivers University, followed by Bond University and the University of Toronto.

The top oralist was Zachary Burrill of the University of Victoria, Meena Sundararaj of the University of Toronto placed second, and Charlotte Baigent from the University of British Columbia placed third. Photos of all the award winners are located on the Past Winners page.

Congratulations and thanks to all participants and volunteers that worked to make this year’s moot a success.


The Wilson Moot 2018 would not have been possible without the generous contributions from the following firms:

Host Sponsor

Premium Sponsors

    Bennett Jones
  Awards Dinner Sponsor   Awards Dinner Reception Sponsor

General Sponsors

Carswell Cavalluzzo Hayes